Shoot The Moon

‘Shoot the Moon’ is the debut album from Glasgow-based jazz-fusion ensemble Mezcla and represents the culmination of almost three years of gigging and growth as a band. Mezcla (the name means 'mixture') was started by bass player David Bowden as a way to combine all his musical influences into one voice. Across the album’s nine tracks, the band fuse elements of jazz, funk, folk and world music, creating their signature sound with energetic grooves and electrifying improvisation.

Recorded in June 2019 at Solas Sound, Glasgow

Engineered, mixed and produced by Gus Stirrat

Mastered by Peter Beckmann at TechnologyWorks

Executive Producer – Martin Hummel

Artwork – Jamie Johnson

released February 7th 2020

‘Mezcla have been making a name for themselves and this debut album firmly bolsters their reputation’ The Scotsman (5 stars)

‘A get-on-the-good-foot, Saturday-night romp with an enthusiastic embrace of African, Latin American and funk musics.’ All About Jazz

‘The pacey, seamless arrangements, neatly spliced with sharp-edged improvisation, deliver instant gratification’ BBC Music Magazine (4 stars)

‘Shoot the Moon, three years in gestation, delivers a bundle of joy’ Bebop Spoken Here

‘Expectations must have been high for Mezcla’s debut album after the attention they’ve garnered over the years so the exceptional quality of ‘Shoot The Moon’ must come with considerable pride for all involved.’ UK Vibe (4/5)

‘This is an extraordinary work product, from the complex and soulful compositions and incredible musicianship right down to the sonics of the mix and mastering.’ The Nonsemble

‘a mixture of South American flair, funk with a lot of soul and a certain fusion crunch. Most surprisingly, this tasty mixture comes from Glasgow of all places.‘ Jazzthing (Germany)

‘classic jazz-funk with the focus on the former… incredible musicianship at its finest’ Scots Whay Hae

Mezcla - EP

Recorded by Paul Ferguson at Edinburgh Napier University 
Mixed and mastered by Gus Stirrat at Solas Sound 
Design by Jamie Johnson

released June 21, 2017 

Michael Butcher - Tenor Saxophone 
Joshua Elcock - Trumpet 
Ben MacDonald - Guitar 
Alan Benzie - Keyboard 
David Bowden - Bass and Compositions 
Stephen Henderson - Drums and Percussion